September 8, 2014

EXPANSION ballet score

Scene 7: Shadow (excerpt)

Scene 5: Apart (excerpt)

Dayton Ballet Orchestra: Tim Olt, conductor.

Chamber Ensemble version: clarinet, percussion, piano, strings

In-studio interview with choreographer, Cydney Spohn

Pre-performance interview with choreographer, Cydney Spohn

PRODUCTION PHOTOS [photo credit sstphoto]

EXPANSION (2010) is an orchestral score for ballet, cast in seven short scenes: wonder, halo, wander, once, apart, once (reprise), shadow. During its 14-minute journey, a huge emotional road is traveled; from curious to reverent, from playful to stately, to the melancholy and magical. Choreographed by Cydney Spohn, the production had a five-performance run on the Dayton Ballet’s New Music for New Dance project, in the historic Victoria Theater, with the Dayton Ballet Orchestra conducted by Tim Olt.